International Federation of Football History & Statistics

Zamalek is IFFHS-FIFA's World Best Club Team (February 2003)

Read more of IFFHS-FIFA Website

World team of the year

World Team of The month

World Referee Ranking

World Top Scorers

African Player of The Century

African Keeper of The Century

IFFHS-FIFA's World Club Ranking

(June 1st 2004 - May 30th, 2005)

How the Club World Ranking is made (View IFFHS website)

The World Club Ranking was started monthly since January 1st, 1991 and the information is globally distributed early in the following month. This ranking takes into consideration the results of twelve months of continental and intercontinental competitions, national league matches (including play-offs) and the national cup. In those countries having several national cup competitions, only the one organised by the national federation is included. Since the cup competition systems are diverse at the preliminary stage level, we assign only the points won in eight-finals, quarter-finals, semi-finals and the final. The points are assigned based upon a rating system of the level of performance of each national league. In the case of matches decided by penalty-kicks, each team receives half of the points in contention.

All national leagues are rated at four levels based upon performance. In this grouping, each country (where the club plays) is assigned a number indicating the performance level of each national league. Clubs in the highest level leagues receive 4 points for each match won, 2 for a draw and 0 for a defeat. Level 2 is assigned 3 pts. (win), 1.5 (draw) and 0 (lost), and so on with the next lower levels. The same system applies for the play-off matches.

In the continental competitions, all clubs receive the same number of points at all stages regardless of the performance level of their leagues. In the case of draws each team receives 50% of the points in dispute and 0 points for a lost match. The points are distributed equally to teams in matches decided by penalty-kicks. All Asia, Africa and CONCACAF continental competitions have the same point-assignment system: 8 points for a win, 4 for a draw; in the preliminary tournament phases for The Caribbean and Oceania zones, only 4 and 2 points are assigned for win and draw. In the South American competitions the clubs receive 12 points for a win, 6 for a draw; and in the European 14 and 7 points, respectively. Competitions between two continents are evaluated depending upon their importance. In the FIFA World Club Cup, the awarding system for wins and draws is determined by averaging the number of points assigned for wins and draws in each of the other continental competitions.

Those competitions not organized by a continental confederation, or any intercontinental events not recognized by FIFA, are not taken into consideration for the World Club Ranking. Any competition cancelled before completion alters the point system. In order to equalise the chances of South American and European clubs we do not consider the result of previous matches already played in said tournament.

The World Club Ranking is a precise classification showing the real level of the clubs free of any subjective influence. It is the result of a profound analysis that allows us to fairly report the level of international performance for each country.

World Club Team of The Month (Started 2000)

January: SC Corinthians Paulista, Sao Paulo  (Brazil)
February: FC Bayern München (Germany)
March: FC Barcelona (Spain)
April: Arsenal FC, London (England)
May: CA Boca Juniors, Buenos Aires (Argentina)
June: CA Mineiro, Belo Horizonte (Brazil)
July: ES Cruzeiro, Belo Horizonte (Brazil)
August : Galatasaray SK, Istanbul (Turkey)
September: Arsenal FC, London (England)
October: RSC Anderlecht (Belgium)
November: Spartak Moscow (Russia)
December: CR Vasco da Gama, Rio de Janeiro (Brasil)
January: FC Barcelona (Spain)
February: Real Club Celta de Vigo (Spain)
March: 1.FC Kaiserslautern (Germany)
April: Liverpool FC (England)
May: Liverpool FC (England)
June: Real Zaragoza (Spain)
July: CR Flamengo, Rio de Janeiro (Brazil)
August: CF América Ciudad de México (México)
September: Panathinaikos Athens (Greece)
October: FC Bayern München(Germany)
November: Club Brugge KV Belgium)
December: Real Madrid (Spain)
January: Sporting Clube de Portugal Lisboa Portugal
February: Arsenal FC, London (England)
March: TSV Bayer 04 Leverkusen (Germany)
April: Club Atlético Morelia (México)
May: CF América Ciudad de México (México)
June: Universitario de Deportes, Lima (Peru)
July: AD Sao Caetano (Brazil)
August: FC Bayern München (Germany)
September: Arsenal FC, London (England)
October: BV Borussia Dortmund (Germany)
November: Glasgow Celtic FC (Scotland)
December: Real Madrid CF (Spain)
January: FC do Porto (Portugal)
February: Zamalek SC, Cairo (Egypt)
March: Real Madrid CF (Spain)
April: FC Porto (Portugal)
May: CA River Plate (Argentina)
June: CA  Boca Juniors (Argentina)
July: Santos FC (Brazil)
August: Glasgow Celtic FC (Scotland)
September: AS de Monaco (France)
October: Real Madrid CF (Spain)
November: AS de Monaco (France)
December: Cienciano del Cusco (Perú)
January: FC Juventus (Italy)
February: Arsenal FC (England)
March: CA  Boca Juniors (Argentina)
April: Valencia CF (Spain)
May: CA River Plate (Argentina)
June: UNAM Ciudad de México (de México)
July: Espérance Sportive de Tunis (Tunisia)
August: Real Madrid CF (Spain)
September: FC Barcelona (Spain)
October: Milan AC (Italy)
November: FC Shalke 04 (Germany)
December: Villarreal CF (Spain)
January: FC Internazionale (Italy)
February: Newcastle United FC (England)
March: Newcastle United FC (England)
April: Milan AC (Italy)
May: CSKA Moscow (Russia)

IFFHS-FIFA's Top World's Referee 2002

2002- Gamal El-Ghandour was 13th

IFFHS-FIFA's Top World's Goal Scorers 1991-2002

1998 - Hossam Hassan was 7th
1999- Hossam Hassan was 10th
2002- Ahmed Belal was 15th

IFFHS-FIFA's Best African Players of the 20th Century

R Player Country
1 George Weah Liberia
2 Roger Milla Cameroon
3 Abedi Ayew "Pelé" Ghana
4 Lakhdar Belloumi Algeria
5 Rabah Madjer Algeria
6 Théophile Abega Cameroon
7 Laurent Pokou Cote d'Ivoire
8 François Omam-Biyik Cameroon
9 Ahmed Faras Morocco
10 Finidi George Nigeria
11 Mahmoud El-Khateeb Egypt
Kalusha Bwalya Zambia
13 Japhet N'Doram Chad
14 Youssouf Fofana Cote d'Ivoire
15 Abdel Aziz Bouderbala Morocco
Tarek Dhiab Tunisia
17 Rachidi Yekini Nigeria
18 Daniel Amokachi Nigeria
19 Ibrahim Youssef Egypt
Labri Ben Barek Morocco
Ali Bencheikh Algeria
Segun Odegbami Nigeria
23 Taher Abou Zaid Egypt
24 Petit Sorry Guinea
Anthony Yeboah Ghana
26 Emmanuel Amunike Nigeria
Tshimemu Bwanga Congo-Kinshasa
28 Ali Abougreisha Egypt
Papa Camara Guinea
30 Mohamed Timoumi Morocco
31 Karim Abdul Razak Ghana
Chérif Souleymane Guinea
33 Nwankwo Kanu Nigeria
34 Victor Ikpeba Nigeria
Jean Manga Onguene Cameroon
Bengaly Sylla Guinea
37 Magdi Abdel Ghani Egypt
Opoku (N'Ti) Afriye Ghana
39 Hany Ramzy Egypt
Etefe Kakoto Congo-Kinshasa
Robert Mensah Ghana
42 Cheik Mohamed Keita Guinea
Djamel Lalmas Algeria
44 Adolf Armah Ghana
Salah Assad Algeria
Mark Fish South Africa
Salif Keita Mali
Serge-Alain Magui Cote d'Ivoire
Paul Moukila Congo-Brazzaville
Sunday Oliseh Nigeria
Ibrahim Sunday Ghana

IFFHS-FIFA's Best African Goal Keeper of the 20th Century

R Goal Keeper Country
1 Joseph-Antoine Bell Cameroon
2 Thomas N'Kono Cameroon
3 Sadok Attouga Tunisia
4 Badou Zaki Morocco
5 Mwemba Kazadi Congo-Kinshasa
6 Jacques Songo'o Cameroon
7 Bruce Grobbelaar Zimbabwe
8 Ahmed Shoubair Egypt
9 Alain Gouaméné Cote d'Ivoire
10 Peter Rufai Nigeria